Author |
Message |
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,005 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Squirrel.God: Quote: I like it!
But I hope you won't want us to be using the AKAs IMDb link though..... In Cinematic Collection Viewer you can customize it via the settings.ini Something like this should also be possible to implement in Profiler's options menu. | | |
|
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 793 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Squirrel.God: Quote: Yeah but the search is then on a bigger dataset so search times increase a little bit and the search results screen is cluttered by displaying all matching akas under each title. That's obviously acceptable if you need the additional akas, but not everyone does. Yeah, I didn't take that into account, mostly because I don't mind it but still, it's a valid point. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 2,694 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting ya_shin: Quote: Quoting Rifter:
Quote: Why are you people so obsessed with using IMDB? We can't use ANY of the data from it anyway, so what's the point of trying to add something that links to it? To look at additional information which DVD Profiler doesn't have...? Sure, it's trivial and you don't care, but apparently others do... I care that Ken has said do not use IMDB data. It is simply not prudent to take that stance and then have a built-in link that takes you to that site. To think that it is shows a profound lack of logic. | | | John
"Extremism in the defense of Liberty is no vice!" Senator Barry Goldwater, 1964 Make America Great Again! |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 793 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Rifter: Quote:
I care that Ken has said do not use IMDB data. It is simply not prudent to take that stance and then have a built-in link that takes you to that site. To think that it is shows a profound lack of logic. We already have a built-in link that takes you to IMDb. Online > Other Websites |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 525 |
| Posted: | | | | I 'enhanced' ya-shin's code a little to produce something slightly different. It's a screen capture and is rather large, so I'll just post a link. Click here to seeAnd here's the code I used to do it. Quote:
<HTML> <HEAD> <SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript"> <!-- <DP NAME="HEADER_VARS" Language="JavaScript" Comments="True" IncludeCast="False" IncludeCrew="False"> /**************************************************/ // Open IMDb page for the profile function imdb() { var imdbStart = DP_Notes.toLowerCase().search("\<imdb\>") + 6; var imdbEnd = DP_Notes.toLowerCase().search("\<\/imdb\>"); var imdbCode = DP_Notes.slice(imdbStart, imdbEnd); var imdbLink = ("http://www.imdb.com/title/" + imdbCode); if (imdbEnd > 1) { window.location.href= imdbLink; } else { document.write("You need to add <IMDB>ttXXXXX</IMDB> to your notes for this to work") } } //--> </SCRIPT> </HEAD> <BODY onload="imdb();"> </BODY> </HTML>
Updated with code from xyrano (thanks). | | | Home of the phpDVDProfiler forums | | | Last edited: by ajm |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 646 |
| Posted: | | | | ajm, Looks like you missed my pm there |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 525 |
| |
Registered: March 15, 2007 | Posts: 374 |
| Posted: | | | | I always wanted yo have the IMDb rating in my profiler. Do you guys see any way to specifically link to that rating ? | | | Last edited: by sugarjoe |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,635 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Rifter: Quote: Why are you people so obsessed with using IMDB? We can't use ANY of the data from it anyway, so what's the point of trying to add something that links to it? You should ask Ken why he provides a link to it in DVDP????? | | | Hal |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,321 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Rifter: Quote: I care that Ken has said do not use IMDB data. It is simply not prudent to take that stance and then have a built-in link that takes you to that site. To think that it is shows a profound lack of logic. That link has been there as long as I can recall (go ahead and look in 2.4). Ken doesn't want us to copy data from their database to the DVD Profiler database. That breaks IMDB rules. But they (IMDB) encourage people to link to them. You seem to think the goal is to copy data, but there are a lot of other reasons one might want to jump from a title to IMDB. Re-read this thread and you'll see many of those reasons listed. | | | Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here. Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,436 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting ajm: Quote: I 'enhanced' ya-shin's code a little to produce something slightly different.
It's a screen capture and is rather large, so I'll just post a link. Looks good... Wow, as this loads for every profile right away, IMDb is sure gonna get an increase in traffic they didn't see coming | | | Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan. Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative) |
|
Registered: March 29, 2007 | Posts: 69 |
| Posted: | | | | Ajm,
I've been using Ya-shin's code for a while. Tried yours, but cant see how it is different. What am I missing... :-) | | | Last edited: by Search1990 |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 525 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting SEARCH1990: Quote: Ajm,
I've been using Ya-shin's code for a while. Tried yours, but cant see how it is different. What am I missing... :-) The only difference is that my version displays the imdb page inside dvdprofiler, where ya-shin's pops up a new window | | | Home of the phpDVDProfiler forums |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 2,694 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting ya_shin: Quote: Quoting ajm:
Quote: I 'enhanced' ya-shin's code a little to produce something slightly different.
It's a screen capture and is rather large, so I'll just post a link. Looks good...
Wow, as this loads for every profile right away, IMDb is sure gonna get an increase in traffic they didn't see coming Great, just what they need. If the data is suspect, what's the point of linking to it? You can't rely on anything you find there. I quit using IMDB long before I ever heard of Profiler because of even then I could see the errors. | | | John
"Extremism in the defense of Liberty is no vice!" Senator Barry Goldwater, 1964 Make America Great Again! |
|
Registered: March 14, 2007 | Posts: 97 |
| Posted: | | | | Just found this and got it running. I was wondering, is there anyway to stop the tt number showing in the notes section? |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 17,334 |
| Posted: | | | | for anything in notes that I don't want to show... I put in brackets... so it would be <tt#>.... and then of course make sure in options you have notes set to "show notes as html"... or something like that. Don't have my program open at the moment. | | | Pete |
|